permitted at this stage but they must be of a general nature, similar to those allowed on second reading. If the vote is favourable, the bill is introduced in the Senate where it goes through a somewhat similar though not identical process, since each chamber has its own rules of procedure. After the bill has been passed by both houses, it is given royal assent by the Governor General or by his or her deputy, the Chief Justice, or one of the other judges of the Supreme Court of Canada. The assent ceremony takes place in the Senate chamber in the presence of representatives of both houses of Parliament. The bill comes into force as soon as it is assented to, unless there is a provision in the bill stating that it will come into force on the day on which it is officially proclaimed.

19.3.1 The Senate

The Senate was established to protect the interests of the less populous regions of Canada in matters under federal jurisdiction. Accordingly, Senate membership is based upon the principle of regional representation rather than representation by population as in the House of Commons.

Representation in the Senate has increased from 72 at Confederation to its present total of 104 members through the addition of members to represent new provinces and territories. This increase in the number of seats in the Senate is summarized in Table 19.2. The 104 Senate seats are distributed as follows: Newfoundland, six; the Maritime provinces, 24 (10 each from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick and four from Prince Edward Island); Quebec, 24; Ontario, 24; the Western provinces, 24 (six each from Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia); and the Yukon and Northwest Territories, one each.

Senators are appointed, in the Queen's name, by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister. Until 1965, senators were appointed for life; now the retirement age is 75 years, the same as that set for federal judges.

As of October 3, 1988, representation in the Senate by political parties was as follows: Liberals, 58; Progressive Conservatives, 35; Independents, 5; Independent Progressive Conservative, 1; vacancies, 5. A list of senators is published in Appendix C of this edition.

The Senate performs three basic functions. In its legislative role, its major work is in the revision of government bills, especially complex, technical bills, either received from the House of Commons for concurrence or introduced in the Senate itself. Committees composed of senators, with specialized knowledge and years of experience in law, business or administration, study the bills, hear witnesses and recommend amendments considered necessary or desirable.

In its deliberative role, the Senate provides a national forum for the discussion of public issues. On two days' notice, a senator can start a debate, with no time limits, on any subject. Such debates focus attention on matters of public interest and provide an opportunity for the airing of regional concerns. During question period, senators may also ask questions of the government.

In its investigative role, the Senate inquires into major social and economic issues. Its standing and special committees have, over the years, produced reports that have often been followed by remedial legislation or changes in government policy. An example is the three-volume report produced between 1975 and 1982, entitled Canada– United States Relations, the last two volumes of which dealt with Canada's trade relations with the United States. Other studies have dealt with public problems such as poverty, unemployment, inflation, aging, land use, science policy and national defence.

The Senate has the same legislative or veto power as the House of Commons, that is, every bill to become law must be passed in identical terms by both Houses. The Senate's legislative authority, however, is subject to two limitations. One is the requirement that appropriation and tax bills (commonly referred to as money bills) must originate in the House of Commons. The other is that, since the patriation of the Constitution in 1982 and the consequent involvement of provincial legislatures in the amendment process, constitutional amendments made by the House of Commons may be re-adopted by that House if not agreed to by the Senate after a period of 180 days. (See Appendix E, section 47 of the Constitution Act, 1982.) The Senate's legislative authority in this respect is referred to as a suspensive veto.

Procedure in the Senate is governed by the Rules of the Senate, a compilation of standing orders. The Speaker of the Senate is named by the Governor General, who acts on the advice of the Prime Minister. Because the Speaker is not elected, the rules provide that the Speaker's decisions may be appealed. Other officers of the Senate include the leader of the government in the Senate, who is usually appointed as a member of the Cabinet and thus serves as the principal link between the government and the Senate, the leader of the opposition in the Senate, the deputy leaders, the party whips and the committee chairmen.

Supporting the senators is an administration of about 450 permanent employees, headed by the clerk of the Senate. Since the Senate is